Oakley, Inc. verliert UDRP-Verfahren um MyFakeOakleySunglasses.com

28. August 2012 | Kategorien: Domainrecht, UDRP

Ein Schiedsgericht beim National Arbitration Forum (NAF) hat die UDRP-Beschwerde der Oakley, Inc. gegen den Inhaber des Domainnamens “myfakeoakleysunglasses.com” zurückgewiesen (Oakley, Inc. v. H intel, NAF Claim No. 1454892). In seiner Entscheidung ging der Schiedsrichter davon aus, dass zwischen dem Domainnamen und den OAKLEY-Marken keine Verwechslungsgefahr im Sinne der UDRP bestehe, da der Bestandteil “Fake” klarstelle, dass es sich bei den angebotenen Waren nicht Produkte der Markeninhaberin handele und die Internetnutzer die Webseite gerade aus diesem Grund besuchen würden:

Complainant also asserts that Respondent’s <myfakeoakleysunglasses.com> domain name is confusingly similar to Complainant’s OAKLEY mark.  Clearly, the addition of the descriptive word “sunglasses” does not adequately distinguish Respondent’s domain from Complainant’s mark.  Complainant did not address the issue of whether the phrase “MyFake” to the beginning of the disputed domain name adequately differentiated the disputed domain from Complainant’s mark.  This is probably because no cases have been decided that address this issue.

There have been three cases where the domain name included the word “replica” at the end of the domain name, all of which resulted in a finding the disputed domain name was confusingly similar to the related mark without much discussion, eLuxury.com Inc. v WangJunJie, FA1075554 (Nat. Arb. Forum Nov. 30, 2007), Louis Vuitton Malletier S.A., L.L.C. v Iani Derdena, FA1178961 (Nat. Arb. Forum May 29, 2008) and American Express Marketing & Development Corp. v BCR / John Hayes, FA1449262 (Nat. Arb. Forum July 21, 2012).  The test under the UDRP is whether the domain name is “identical or confusingly similar”; not whether there is “confusion” nor whether the disputed domain name merely contains Complainant’s mark.

Complainant’s mark and the disputed domain name are not identical; they almost never are.  This Panel does not see a confusing similarity between Complainant’s mark and the disputed domain name, see Homer TLC, Inc. v GreenPeople, FA550345 (Nat. Arb. Forum October 25, 2005).  Everybody knows what the work “fake” means.  The word “fake” appears before the trademark in the domain name.  The web site makes it pretty clear these are counterfeit goods.  People are going to this web site because they know it isn’t affiliated with Complainant.  People are buying these good because the purchasers want to pretend they are Complainant’s goods.  While it would seem obvious there is trademark infringement, that is not the test under the UDRP.

Die Entscheidung ist in diesem Punkt höchst fragwürdig. Die ganz überwiegende Mehrheit der Schiedsgerichte geht davon aus, dass das Erfordernis der “confusing similarity” im Sinne des § 4(a)(i) der UDRP immer dann erfüllt ist, wenn ein Domainname die Marke des Beschwerdeführers enthält, auch wenn darüber hinaus weitere beschreibende Bestandteile im Domainnamen enthalten sind. Insoweit ist anerkannt, dass sich die Anforderungen an eine verwechslungsfähige Ähnlichkeit nach der UDRP von denen im klassischen Markenrecht unterscheiden.

Die Argumentation des Schiedsrichters erinnert an die bereits kurz nach Einführung der UDRP im jahr 1999 begonnene und langjährig geführte Diskussion, ob Domainnamen, die sog. pejorative Zusätze (“sucks”, “fraud” u.ä.) enthalten, mit einer Marke verwechslungsfähig ähnlich im Sinne der UDRP sein können. Hier wurde vornehmlich von US-amerikanischen Schiedsrichtern unter Verweis auf Entscheidungen US-amerikanischer Gerichte die Mindermeinung vertreten, dass die Hinzufügung pejorativer Zusätze eine Verwechslungsgefahr schlicht ausschließe, da kein vernünftiger und umsichtiger Internetnutzer (“reasonably prudent user”) einen entsprechenden Domainnamen mit einer Marke verwechseln würde. Diese Auffassung dürfte heute als gänzlich überholt angesehen werden und wurde, soweit ersichtlich, zuletzt 2010 von einer US-amerikanischen Schiedsrichterin vertreten (Gary Kompothecras v. ProLawUSA, NAF Claim No. 1328818, <askgarysucks.com>; Toyota Marin v. Issue Click a/k/a The IssueClick Group, NAF Claim No. 1303054, <toyotamarinsucks.com>).

Tags: , , , ,

Antworten

Abmahnung Domain | Abmahnung wegen Markenrechtsverletzung | Domainpfändung | Domainrecht | Domains / Domainnamen | eCommerce | Markenanmeldung | Markenrecht | Traffic Protection | Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (UDRP) | usTLD Dispute Resolution Policy (usDRP)
My partner internetgucci shoes where I are able obtain it. gucci handbagsPlease mate!c providing gucci sneakersa qu just read through thegucci bags ent blogroll. gucci outletThis some latest post.gucci sunglasses\u000aAll Newest Styles for 2012Tory Burch on sale\u000a. Save on fine cheap tory burch shoes Tory Burch Handbags here. Up to 74% OFF with Free Shipping Worldwide! Now enjoy Extra 2% OFF on orders above $130 with code RF6281\u000a. If you have wide feet, Tory Burch flatkindly please run 1 size tory burch outlet up!\u000aWelcome to Cheap Sunglasses Outlet ! We provide a great many sunglasses, such as Oakley sunglasses, Rayban sunglasses,Gucci sunglasses, Chanel sunglasses, Versace sunglasses, Coach sunglasses, Dior sunglasses, Armani sunglasses... Thank you for visiting our Sunglasses For Women a to most country!Bikini SwimsuitTha your post. cheap swimwearGreat this greatstring bikini, style are wonderfulEd Hardy Bikini. post. billabong swimwearFantastic attitude! lfnehthibmkhaprkacsjgq\u000ajuicy swimwear lejdkfjjedg Awesome postralph lauren swimwear.I totally agree, cheap handbagsbut the poi fantastic. gucci handbagsThat up on this subject. chanel handbagsAfte he majority.\u000aWell written Louis Vitton HandBagscontent like this today is far too rare, Jimmy Choo HandBagsand thank you for putting in time and effort into your wonderful websitePrada HandBags.the best pizza of the world MIU MIU HandBags